The Winners of Mexico International Documentary Film Festival 2017

Grand Jury Award: Colors directed by Roopa Iyer

Jury Award: Life: Shattered Families: the Collapse of America’s Mental Health System directed by Stephen Seager

Special Jury Prize: On The Map directed by Dani Menkin

Special Jury Prize: Odile, The Documentary directed by Gabriel Fonseca Verdugo

Special Jury Prize: The taste of Brussels sprouts directed by Michael Terraz

Best Feature Film: Brother Sister directed by Alex Thompson

Best Animation: Tokri (The Basket) directed by Suresh Eriyat

Best Comedy: The Infinitely Generous Francis Victus directed by Barry Worthington

Best Romantic Comedy: One True Love directed by Fook Ngo

Best Mexico Film: Finisterra directed by Erick Higuera

Best Sci-Fi: Hey directed by Angel Janer, Peter Jones

Best Director: East West directed by Rodrigo Grota

Best Action/Adventure Film: Hunting Season directed by Teo Jansen

Best Documentary Feature: Into the unknown directed by Inigo Westmeier, Benjamin Quabeck

Best Documentary Short:How to Stop a Pipeline directed by Kip Pastor

Best Drama: The Waiting Room directed by Hend Fakhroo

Best Fantasy Film:An Evening of Eternity directed by Constantin Maier

Best Family Film: Kids From Camelot directed by Terence E. Wolfe

Best First Time Filmmaker: When The Sun Shines directed by Frederik Barington

Best Environmental Film: Through The Thick directed by Nino Leitner

Best Independent Film:Better directed by Scotti Gibson

Best Experimental Film: I Want To Burn That House directed by Muhamad Yazid Md So’od

Best Music Video: Please Tell Rosie – Alle Farben feat. YOUNOTUS directed by Marc Rissmann

Best Screenplay: Some Other Dawns directed by Florian Poupelin

Best Short Film: The Simon s way directed by Edgar Baghdasaryan

Best Student Film: Kiss of Death directed by Timothy Collins, Jillian Kibler

Best Thriller Film:The Return directed by Oliver Nias

Best TV Pilot: A.L.L.I.A.N.C.E directed by Kenneth Mader

Official Finalists:

Four Motherless Children directed by Ralph Isenberg

Wanderlust, female bodies in transit directed by Maria Perez Escalá, Anne vonPetersdorff

Everything in the Song is True directed by Douglas Morrione

The Metal Islands directed by Osvaldo González Sepúlveda

Flow directed by Mao Fukasawa, Akihiro Miyata

Doris directed by Oscar Rodriguez Gorriz

Sunday directed by Erika Oregel

A Town Called Theocracy directed by Jehad N. Al-Khateeb

Muskrat directed by Antoine de Bujadoux

Deep Love directed by Arturo Pierdonà

Chosen (Custody of the Eyes) directed by Abbie Reese

2017 Screenplay Competition Winners

The Mexico International Film Festival proudly congratulates its 2017 Screenplay Winners and Official Finalists.

1st Place
Resurrection Time Conspiracy written by James Carroll

2nd Place
The Heroes of the World written by Dayra Lee Montoyo

3rd Place
The Salt Box written by Robert J. Rogers

Official Finalists:

20/20: Search for Independence written by Harold L. Brown

Del Rio, Texas written by Abhiraj Trivedi

Dakota Caves – 2 Miles written by Robert J. Rogers

Sight Unseen written by Chloe Tuck

Spirits written by Paul Horan

The Dark Season written by Jaime Baker

The Boy with One Ear written by Robert Fullerton

Father Rennie written by Bonnie Eaton

A Present for Me written by Mary Helen Barraza

EL REMANSO written by Josue Vazquez